8 things about writing

Phil J. Harrison's Blog

Take It From Me

And yes, I do follow this advice. I follow all advice I hand out. If I didn’t, I need to shut the hades up.

You don’t just set down and write a book then publish it. It takes work. If anyone tells you otherwise, they are either a liar or a fool, or perhaps both. And if you listen, you are the fool. Every book you write, from your first to your 39th in a series to your 80th is the first book someone will see from you. Make sure that book makes them want to read more.

There are writers who are in it for the money. Off the top of my head, I can point to some extremely prolific writers in a certain sub-genre that may have outlived its fanbase. They sign 80 book deals. They turn out books that are barely English even…

View original post 1,730 more words

Leave a Reply

